Disclosures:

Mathias Buttmann received honoraria for lecturing, consulting and/or travel expenses for attending meetings from Bayer, Biogen, Boehringer, Celgene, Coloplast, Daiichi-Sankyo, Das Fortbildungskolleg, Merck, Novartis, Roche, Sanofi and Teva.

Julius C Eggebrecht is an employee of Roche Pharma AG and shareholder of F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG.

Sven G Meuth receives honoraria for lecturing, and travel expenses for attending meetings from Almirall, Amicus Therapeutics Germany, Bayer Health Care, Biogen, Celgene, Diamed, Genzyme, MedDay Pharmaceuticals, Merck Serono, Novartis, Novo Nordisk, ONO Pharma, Roche, Sanofi-Aventis, Chugai Pharma, QuintilesIMS and Teva. His research is funded by the German Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF), Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR), Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Else Kröner Fresenius Foundation, Gemeinsamer Bundesausschuss (G-BA), German Academic Exchange Service, Hertie Foundation, Interdisciplinary Center for Clinical Studies (IZKF) Muenster, German Foundation Neurology and Alexion, Almirall, Amicus Therapeutics Germany, Biogen, Diamed, Fresenius Medical Care, Genzyme, HERZ Burgdorf, Merck Serono, Novartis, ONO Pharma, Roche, and Teva.

Martin S Weber has no conflicts of interest to declare in regard to this study.

Petra Dirks is an employee of F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG and shareholder of F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG.

Stefanie Hieke-Schulz is an employee of Roche Pharma AG.

Jost Leemhuis is an employee of Roche Pharma AG and shareholder of F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG.

Tjalf Ziemssen reports grants and personal fees from Biogen, Roche, Merck, TEVA, and Almirall; grants, personal fees and non-financial support from Genzyme and Novartis; and personal fees from Bayer, BAT, Celgene and Gilead.